On the 18 December 2018 the Government endorsed the Commission on the Future of Policing in Ireland’s Report and agreed to accept all recommendations. The Minister for Justice and Equality subsequently published a four year high level plan entitled “A Policing Service for the Future” which sets out the approach to implementation. This will be overseen by the Implementation Group on Policing Reform chaired by Helen Ryan and will be supported by a dedicated Policing Reform Implementation Programme Office in the Department of An Taoiseach, www.gov.ie/policingreform.

The plan will run until 2022 and the objective in 2019 will be to put in place the key building blocks to ensure that all priority actions are commenced.

The Implementation of the overall Report of the Commission is focused on five key work streams which capture all of the Commission’s recommendations namely:

The Plan will be a living document and will be updated twice a year as required. Updates on the progress of the implementation plan will be available in due course.

The Commission on the Future of Policing was established by Government and commenced work in May 2017. It was tasked with undertaking a comprehensive examination of all aspects of policing including all functions carried out by An Garda Síochána. 

The Commission published its report on 18 September 2018..  The report makes many innovative proposals. It places an emphasis  on understanding policing as including not only the prevention or detection of crime, but also the prevention of harm and protection of vulnerable people, and the implications of this for the whole of Government.

The Commission on Future of Policing in Ireland has now concluded its work. This is a major report on one of the key functions of the State and it is now receiving appropriate consideration.

For further information on the Commission on the Future of Policing in Ireland you can visit the Commission website www.policereform.ie.


Members of Commission on the Future of Policing in Ireland

Ms. Kathleen O’Toole (Chairperson)

Ms. Noeline Blackwell

Dr. Johnny Connolly

Dr. Vicky Conway

Mr. Tim Dalton

Sir Peter Fahy QPM., MA

Dr. Eddie Molloy

Ms. Tonita Murray

Dr. Antonio Oftelie

Professor Donncha O'Connell

Ms. Helen Ryan